Topo Designs Mountain Pants


Remember those totally awesome Mountain Shorts that Topo Designs dropped back in the beginning of the summer? Well, now they’re offering an equally awesome full-leg version for fall. Like their predecessors, the Mountain Pants are made in Colorado from burly ripstop cotton and feature top-stitched front and rear pockets, a contrast key loop and built-in nylon belt. Three colors are available, and at $129 a pop, you might as well pick up one of each.

For price and purchase info, visit Topo Designs.

  • CB

    Shame about the inseam lengths

  • Pete

    “Three colors are available, and at $129 a pop, you might as well pick up one of each.”

    LOL

  • John

    ^ Seconded. The inseams are for tiny people.

  • joe

    Curious if anyone has tried these (or the shorts) out hiking/camping or even just wearing around. They look sharp as hell but I am really interested in feedback from anyone on their construction and durability.

    Best,

    Joe

  • Jake

    I own a pair of the camo mountain shorts, and while I wear them as often as possible, I noticed that some of the stitching looks a tad sloppy (loose strings hanging off), and that the color noticeably faded after one wash. I still really like the shorts, but for the price, I would expect more.

  • http://unpasteurizedlife.com Matt

    Just ordered a pair in khaki. Love the inseam length! (says the short guy)

  • Schfly

    This comment is not about these pants, but my feelings on Topo:

    I’m more or less done with Topo – the mountain briefcase really soured me on them – I don’t know what mountains they’re talking about, but I barely trust this thing with my daily commute. The cordura is paper thin and the lining basically useless at keeping out water. I unzipped the outer pocket and held the material up to the light – I was shocked by the number of holes left from stitching on the logo and leather patches. No wonder it leaks like a sieve. Speaking of stitching, sloppy sloppy sloppy. I’ve had numerous loose threads and had to have the leather patches redone by a tailor – they were unraveling when it was first delivered. Not to mention the backpack straps are fit like something a doll to wear – I have a 42″ chest and can barely get the straps on at their full length.

    I’m just really disappointed with how flimsy this thing is. I thought I was getting a bit of a bargain, considering the price. But it’s just so much less rugged than depicted or advertised.

    That being said, I don’t know about these pants. But my experience with the company’s products, especially a really popular one like the mountain briefcase, has not been a good one. Buyer beware.

    • Topo Designs

      Hi Schfly,

      Thank you for your honest feedback, we really appreciate it! We totally agree with you about the Mountain Briefcase staps – so we made them longer. I’m sorry you were disappointed with your purchase, and we’d like the opportunity to make it right.

      We definitely stand by our products, so feel free to contact us about any concerns you have and we can answer questions and help fix any issues!

      Topo Designs
      info@topodesigns.com

  • joe

    Thanks to Schfly for your feedback on these. It’s unfortunate since the aesthetics are nice in addition to the fact that this is US-made. It’s disappointing to hear to say the least.

    Brad, I’m curious as to how this type of feedback effects Well-Spent’s willingness to cover brands in the future. I realize that you aren’t endorsing these brands per se but you do have a reasonably bright spotlight to shine on smaller or emerging companies. I realize that you can’t review everything regarding craftsmanship/durability yourself and that taking feedback from anonymous readers introduces its own problems. However, it seems that in this instance and certainly others, brands just aren’t delivering on their promise or marketing. There certainly is a fine line that you have to walk and I’m interested in your thoughts of how you navigate these types of issues.

    I really love your site and that’s why I check back every day. I enjoy your work and ethos so I’m hopeful this comes across just as an open conversation and insight into your thoughts.

    Best,

    Joe

  • John

    I was exited when Topo Designs released their Mountain Pant following their well received Mountain shorts. I had been looking for technical spec durable fabric pants like these for a while. When I received the pants I was surprised how light they were giving the pants a linen-like feel. The pants look great an fit surprisingly well -I’m a 32″ and fit a small.

    Unfortunately these pants started to wear extremely fast. The front pocket, where I usually keep my phone, quickly became stressed and began to fray around the corners of phone. To add to this, the zipper on the rear pocket wore right through the pants. Several other frays and rips began to appear at random after a month or two. This was concerning since I had only worn the pants in the office and around town.

    The Ripstop fabric that these pants are constructed from, in my experience, is extremely fragile and wears quickly. I am unsatisfied with these pants due to their limited durability and poor construction, which is unfortunate because they do look and fit very well.

    I do no recommend until Topo gets their fabric right.

    John.

    • Topo Designs

      Hi John,

      We really appreciate your honest feedback – we use that input to improve our products and better our product development practices. I’m sorry to hear that the Mountain Pants fabric disappointed you on the durability front. We wanted them to be a lightweight Spring pant, so we used a cotton ripstop – but of course, cotton has it’s strengh limits! We are currently working on a Work Pant that will cater to those looking for something more durable.

      We definitely stand by our products, so feel free to contact us about any concerns you have and we can answer questions and help fix any issues!

      Topo Designs
      info@topodesigns.com